Channel Country rivers nourish the heart of QLD's Outback

Geography of the Channel Country

Covering one-sixth of Australia, Lake Eyre Basin spans four states—Queensland, Northern Territory, New South Wales and South Australia. As one of the world’s largest internal drainage systems, this expansive, dry wilderness is the site of one of the planet’s most spectacular natural phenomena.

Following periodic heavy rainfall, the three river systems comprising Lake Eyre Basin—Cooper's Creek, Diamantina River and Georgina River—flood across thousands of miles, moving life-giving water from the country’s tropical north to its arid center. 

Maintaining the natural river flows of Cooper's Creek, and the Diamantina and Georgina rivers is essential for ensuring that the Channel Country habitat, and the communities and businesses that rely upon it, is protected for the long-term.

Showing 2 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.
  • anonymous
    commented 2018-03-12 16:32:32 +1000
    You almost solve the problem of the people and this service is need of the time. I am so excited to read this information and I feel so happy. You should work hard for this purpose and this is very useful and helpful material for the people.
  • anonymous
    commented 2018-02-14 19:04:31 +1000
    A great degree energizing article thanks for sharing it to each one of us. Looking forward to more information and you have continually intrigued me. Thank you for creating an article that has amazing substance and is well formed and even I am revived by your composed style as well.